A clear analogy

You guys.

Why why why do I wait so long to update my blog? I love to write and yet I make little time for it.

Every so often (probably once every week to be honest) I have an idea and say to myself or out loud if another adult is around, “Oh that’s a neat blog post in the making.” And then it’s gone; like Frank Sinatra, like Elvis and his mom, like Al Paccino’s cash. [Nothing lasts in this life.]

BUT. I do remember one post idea and I’M GOING TO SHARE IT with you right now.

The photos to accompany it are ridiculous. But it will all come together in the end. Promise.

In one of the rooms of our 109 year old home there are 7 windows. It’s technically a bedroom and I’ve always been baffled as to why ANYONE would want that.many.windows in their room! Hello, lack of privacy. Hello, morning sun. (The room faces east. East!)

Enter one of my (or was it my husband’s?) most practical remodeling ideas: make said bedroom with 7 Windows (tangent- I have to edit “Windows” every time because it auto corrects with Windows with an uppercase W as if I’m not currently typing on an apple product. Notice it did not capitalize Apple. Oh, now there it did. What in the world. Moving on) into a SUNROOM.

Get it? All the sun.

In that room, the windows are old, circa 1960. We decided to take out 2 of them and replace it with a sliding glass door.

After the patio door was installed, we still had 5 old windows in that room. The difference blew my mind.

I knew that the existing ones weren’t perfect but I never knew how undeniably awful they were till they butted up next to a brand spanking new one.

image.jpeg

This is one of the old windows. You can still see out of it, yes. It’s not totally opaque. And it could use some scrubbing. But, not the worst view I’ve ever had, right? Look at the grass!

image

And here’s the new.

Hold up. Wait a minute.

Yes, these windows are in the same room looking at the same grass at the same time of day (photos taken approximately 10 seconds apart with zero editing on either).

That does not even look like the same yard!

Believe it or not, I’m not a window salesperson and I am not even  sponsoring the purchase of new windows.

Here’s what I saw.

Our old windows weren’t great but they were fine and if it’s all we ever had then with that we’d say, “Whatever. They’re  fine.”

The new pane opened my eyes to the dirty, filthy nature of the old windows.

By comparing them to the new, I realized that the old windows were so dingy that they needed replacing because no amount of scrubbing would clean up those bad boys to the point of being able to see how green that grass really is.

It reminded me of the Law (the 10 commandments of which you are more than likely at least a little bit familiar) and Jesus Christ’s perfect fulfillment of the Law.

God gave us the Law to show us how much we need HIM.

If I abide by my own standard, things don’t look that grim. I think, “I’m not THAT bad, especially not compared to HER. I would go to heaven, of course, because I’m a good person.”

But the Bible is very clear that our own goodness doesn’t cut it, and we won’t be able to see that truth until we look through an unblemished window and compare it with our faded one.

The Law. If you break even one of God commands you are tainted. Have you ever told a lie? Have you stolen even one single cookie? Have you ever been rude?

Jesus never coveted. He never lusted. He was never greedy. He had no unrighteous anger. He was perfect.

Like my new patio door, but much, much better.

We cannot rely on our goodness. We must have Jesus. Have you trusted Him?

(And for the record, those old windows are gone now. Excited to have that perfect standard all throughout our home!)

For more on my personal decision to trust Jesus, go to the main menu and click “the story of my life”.

For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. Romans 3:23

For the wages of sin is death but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 6:23

But God proves his own love for us in that whole we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8

If you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. One believes with the heart, resulting in righteousness, and one confesses with the mouth, resulting in salvation. Romans 10:9-10

For everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved. Romans 10:13

Leave a Reply

